A Lenten Experiment

I know, I know, some of you are thinking: “Micah, it’s like, totally Christmas time, yo. What’re you thinking, talking about Lent? That’s like, a bajillion years from now.” I get it. Just hear me out.

Like Advent (the church calendar season leading up to Christmas), Lent is a season of preparation. For 40 days, the church prepares itself not for the birth of Christ but for the resurrection of Christ: Easter. Therefore, in the spirit of preparation I am currently in the process of planning, formulating, gathering, curating, creating a prayer liturgy for Lent.

Micah, I have no idea what a prayer liturgy is. Wow, that’s a remarkable non-question! My friends and me made a video interview a while back about prayer, liturgies and other things (the first 3 minutes are what you’re look for):

Micah, I no idea what Lent is. Another superb pseudo-question! I’m gonna let my friend, Fr. Michael take this one (it’s 39 seconds):

Right now, I’m in the early stages of pre-production, which means all ideas are welcome. That’s right, my friends; I want to hear from you—your ideas, your input, your thoughts! Tell me about your experiences with Lent, fasting, doubts, questions, lamenting, wandering, etc. Remember that great line from Come Thou Fount?

Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it
Prone to leave the God I love
-Robert Robinson

Here are some examples of what I’m looking for:

  • song (new or old)
  • scripture passage
  • written prayer
  • sermon
  • quote
  • book
  • piece of art
  • video
  • article
  • thought/comment/experience
  • or something else entirely

Please submit your ideas in the form below, and tell your friends!

Leave a Reply

